The Sword Dancer, Jeannie Lin

I’m On the Same Page as SonomaLass; her post is here.

The Sword Dancer is the fourth of Jeannie Lin’s Tang Dynasty romances, but the first I’ve read. It won’t be the last. I enjoyed this book for its own sake (and I’ll get to that in a minute), but it also embodies what I love about historical romance: it uses the values of the characters, the seriousness with which they take things like honor, duty, and social position, as a rich source of conflict. Honestly, it’s much easier in historical romances than in contemporaries to find reasons to keep hero and heroine apart. These days, fortunately for us, honor and duty and class rarely keep lovers apart, and conflicts/obstacles to the HEA in many contemporaries feel forced. I never understand why so many historical authors seem to throw all this juicy stuff out the window to write contemporary characters in fancy clothes.

Lin doesn’t. Han is a thief-catcher, and Li Feng, the sword dancer of the title, is a thief. Well, maybe? Sort of? (I won’t spoil it). Though his profession puts him “at the border of civility and lawlessness,” he’s a man of the cities, upholding the social order. She belongs to “the lakes and the rivers,” the lawless places outside of settled areas; she consorts with bandits.

This isn’t so much an enemies-to-lovers as an adversaries-to-lovers story. At the beginning, Han is trying to capture Li Feng, and she’s trying to escape (something that happens several times). They respect each other’s abilities from the start, and fairly quickly come to admire each other, even though they remain in opposition. Gradually, circumstances make them a team, working together instead of at odds with each other. This partnership of equals is my very favorite thing in romance. I loved this aspect of the book.

They’re also attracted to each other from the start, and both come to recognize that Han’s “relentless pursuit of her [is] . . . some strange form of courtship.” Lin’s descriptions are often lovely and sensual, as when Han first sees Li Feng, who is performing:

With each thrust of the sword, his pulse rose. With each lunge and leap, his heart beat faster. It was the essence of the sword dance, the balance of contrasting elements. The hardness of the warrior techniques served to highlight the sensuality of the dance. He was enchanted by the suppleness of an exposed wrist. Enthralled by the hint of rounded calves and gently curved thighs beneath the flowing costume.

It would be easy to see Han and Li Feng as balancing elements, and to some extent that’s true, but each also contains both “hard” and “soft.” Han, for instance, is more willing to admit his emotions.

This is really romantic suspense, as Han and Li Feng figure out the motive behind the theft of a chest of jade and defeat the bad guys. The suspense plot is engrossing and well paced, and Lin writes great action scenes–both Li Feng’s flights over rooftops and fight scenes come alive with cinematic vividness.

The world-building is also skillful. I can’t say if the historical background is accurate, but I can say that Lin clearly sketches the elements of Tang Dynasty life and culture that are relevant to her story without dumping information on her reader. She trusts us to figure things out from the context and details she does give. For instance, when Han notes that Li Feng hadn’t learned to conceal her emotions, I understood that he–and people of his class–do learn that. And I also understood something about where the old stereotype of the “inscrutable Oriental” might come from.

This book was a big win: an unusual historical setting; intriguing, well-drawn characters; a convincing conflict; dramatic action and suspense; a quietly emotional love story. It felt different, but also reminded me of the familiar things I love in historical romance. Thanks, Jeannie Lin!

This entry was posted in review, romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Sword Dancer, Jeannie Lin

  1. willaful says:

    Ooo, that sounds intriguing. I love those couple dynamics.

    • Liz Mc2 says:

      It’s lower-angst than this kind of story could be (which is fine by me); I just loved the relationship between them.

      • Erin Satie says:

        Agree with this point–Li Feng & Han are adults, they don’t tear their hair and put on sackcloth about the chasm that divides them. There IS a chasm that divides them, and it is almost impossible to bridge. This was my favorite thing about the book, too, because they each have a strong, sympathetic moral position and it keeps them apart.

  2. SonomaLass says:

    Lin has an interesting note on her web site about the “alternate history” elements in her first two books, set earlier in the Tang Dynasty, and which elements she chose to change to make her story work.

    I see we agree a lot on this book!

    • Liz Mc2 says:

      Yes, we are truly “on the same page”! I had started it and then got side-tracked, so thanks for giving me the impetus to finish.

  3. Haven’t read this one yet, but I loved THE LOTUS PALACE – believable class conflict yay!

    • Liz Mc2 says:

      Believable class conflict is so rare in historical romance, I think. I wonder if it’s because Americans don’t really “believe” in class. There are plenty of Cinderella/rags-to-riches type stories. What I found interesting here was that this wasn’t simply a conflict of the “one person/society has class prejudice and that’s wrong” type. Rather, being from different classes/social groups was a meaningful difference that made it harder for them to understand each other and be together. To some extent, a cultural difference. That complex understanding of class is really interesting to me.

  4. Pingback: On the Same Page: The Sword Dancer by Jeannie Lin | Sonomalass's Blog

  5. Kelly says:

    Agreed on everything. I also love all the different ways Lin finds to work in the concept of “honor” – it’s so culturally rooted and each character has their own definition.

    You (and everyone else) MUST read My Fair Concubine (it’s on sale, hint hint).

    • Liz Mc2 says:

      Yes, culturally rooted but not the same for everyone. I liked how they came to recognize and respect each other’s versions of honor, even though they looked a bit different.

      I have to see which Lin books I already have in the TBR. I want to read them all now, for sure.

  6. Sunita says:

    Late to the party but I’m so glad you liked this! And it’s great that you and SonomaLass are on the same page. 😉

    I agree with your take on the book, and I second Victoria’s recommendation of The Lotus Palace, which I think is even better. Lin is writing some of the best historical romance in the genre right now, in my opinion. I know her style isn’t for everyone, but I think a lot of readers will enjoy these stories if they try a sample.

    • Liz Mc2 says:

      I know we were talking about the style at SonomaLass’s (NOT on the same page!) and I agree it isn’t for everyone. No style is, of course, but this even more so because it does call attention to itself.

      I did find it a bit awkward at first, but when I adjusted I thought that the somewhat more formal language and the rhythms that differ a bit from typical English sentence patterns (both of which are evident in what I quoted here, I think) work really well to convey a different culture and language without being over done. I loved that she didn’t drop in “foreign” words or even use translated titles much (characters call each other “Mister,” for instance). The reminder that the characters aren’t speaking English was much more subtle than is often the case.

Comments are closed.